Red Bulls Salute
From August 16-17, 2024, the traditional showdown will once again take place in Zell am See-Kaprun and will once again bring together four top international teams in the Pinzgau 'Hockey Town'. Advance ticket sales for the 17th edition of the tournament are now open.
Four participants from four nations
Since the new edition in 2017, the traditional tournament to kick off the new ice hockey season has been contested by four strong international teams. In addition to the usual hosts - four-time German champions EHC Red Bull Munich and nine-time champions of the win2day ICE Hockey League, EC Red Bull Salzburg - ten-time Swiss champions ZSC Lions from Zurich will also be taking part again. The tournament will be completed for the first time by the four-time Swedish champions Växjö Lakers. The game will be played in the KE KELIT Arena, the home of EK Die Zeller Eisbären, which has a capacity of 2,600 spectators.
The tournament schedule
Fri, 16.08.24 Semi-final 1 | 4 p.m. | EHC Red Bull Munich - Växjö Lakers Semi-final 2 | 7.30 p.m. | EC Red Bull Salzburg - ZSC Lions
Sat, 17.08.24 Minor Final | 3 p.m. | Loser HF 1 - Loser HF 2 Final | 7 p.m. | Winner HF 1 - Winner HF 2
The participants
ZSC Lions | ... won the 2023/24 National League final in seven games against Lausanne, making them ten-time Swiss champions. The Zurich ice skating club has been in existence since 1930 and can look back on a long tradition. This includes historic international successes such as winning the 2009 Champions Hockey League (organized by the IIHF at the time), the 2009 Victoria Cup and the 2006 Red Bulls Salute in Salzburg. This will be the Swiss' fifth participation in the tournament.
Växjö Lakers | ... have been playing in the Swedish top league SHL since 2011 and have won four national championship titles since then. They only celebrated their last full success in the 2022/23 season, reaching the semi-finals last season. In the Champions Hockey League, they made it to the final in 2018, where they lost to top Finnish team JYP Jyväskylä. Taking part in the Red Bulls Salute is a first for the Swedes.
Red Bull Munich | ... is currently one of the most successful German ice hockey clubs and has won the German championship four times. From 2016 to 2018, the Munich team made it a three-peat in the PENNY DEL, followed by a fourth championship title in 2023. In the last season 2023/24, the club reached the semi-finals. One of the club's greatest international successes was reaching the final of the CHL 2018/19. Red Bull Munich has also taken part in the Red Bulls Salute since 2017 and has already won the tournament twice.
EC Red Bull Salzburg | ... is the most successful team in the win2day ICE Hockey League and was crowned league champions for the ninth time last season. The Salzburg team made history in the process; for the first time, a club managed to win the title in the cross-border league three times in a row - the three-peat. The Red Bulls Salute is inextricably linked with the Salzburgers, who have won the tournament twice so far.
Always be informed!
Yes! I would like to receive information about events, products, activities and offers from EC Red Bull Salzburg GmbH and its affiliated companies by e-mail. I know that I can revoke this consent at any time free of charge by clicking the „unsubscribe“ button or by sending an e-mail to Information about what personal data we collect about you and how we process it can be found in our privacy policy.